Youth Speaks

Youth Speaks 2015 

The William Brookes School in Much Wenlock was the venue for the local heat of Youth Speaks 2015. An audience of around 100 people heard the seven teams speak on subjects ranging from ‘Is Islamic Extremism the Inevitable Result of western intervention?’ to ‘I’m a Celebrity – Can I Get Away With It.’ After lengthy deliberations the judging panel led by Jean Escott announced that the winners were the team from Newport Girls High School. The team of Chairperson Lydia Wigley, Speaker Charlotte Oakes and Proposer of the Vote of Thanks Rida Azam spoke eloquently on the topic of ‘Is Ghost-Writing Ever Ethical’. They were presented with the Youth Speaks Trophy together with vouchers for £20. Chairperson of the judging panel Jean Escott congratulated all the teams taking part on the quality of their performance. The winning team now move onto the regional final which takes place in Market Drayton on 10th March. The photographs show: Left: Newport Girls High School team with Chair of Judges Jean Escott and Tutor Dan Postle.


Youth Speaks 2014

The 2014 Telford heat of ‘Youth Speaks’, organised by the Rotary Clubs of Ironbridge, Newport, Telford Centre, Wellington and The Wrekin, was contested by teams representing the Abraham Darby Academy who spoke on the subject ‘Is the pressure of education worth the rewards’, Adams Grammar School [‘Should we search for extra-terrestrial life’] and Thomas Telford School [‘Trolls but not as you knew them’].

With just minutes to put their argument across, the teams of three must work together to introduce their chosen topic, deliver it in a clear, balanced and entertaining manner and invite the audience to be involved. The judges are looking for confident performers, clearly articulated points of view and the ability to respond to questions.

Chair of the Judges Jean Escott, former Arts & Culture Manager for Telford & Wrekin Council, congratulated all the competitors on their performance and on their interesting and well researched topics before giving the result of the competition to the teams and audience. The Abraham Darby Academy team of Justine Tanumjit [Chairperson], David Stevens [Speaker] and Sean Yapp [Proposer of the Vote of Thanks] were presented with a trophy, certificates and gift vouchers. The team, supported by their tutor Michael Duffield, proceeded to the RIBI District 1210 Final.

The photograph shows from the left: Chair of Judges, Jean Escott; Sean Yapp; David Stevens; Justine Tanumjit and Tutor Michael Duffield.


Scroll to Top